skip to Main Content


Castlerea Golf Club was founded on 9th September 1905. The course was originally located on the Ballymoe Road at Harristown. It moved to its present location at Clonalis in 1907. Today, the club continues to develop the course and grounds, with additional lands purchased as recently as 2007. This new development is in close proximity to the famous Clonalis House, the historic seat of the O’Conor Don family.

Become a Member


Over the years Castlerea Golf Club has produced many fine and successful golfers. Bertie Briscoe was a member when winning the West of Ireland in 1928 and 1931. Miss Audrey O’Donoghue, whose father was a founder member of the club, represented Ireland from 1948 to 1953 and subsequently became Irish team captain. Rupert de Lacy Staunton was the winner of the South of Ireland in 1965 and 1972. He played for Ireland from 1963 to 1973 during which time Ireland won the European Championship for the first time. Rupert also captained the Irish team for a number of years and was a Walker Cup selector. His father Maurice was president of the GUI in 1974.

We deeply appreciate the families who generously  sponsor competitions each year in memory of their dearly departed loved ones.

Audrey O’Donoghue Cup

Bernie Keane Memorial

Eileen McKeon Memorial

Hession Cup

Maurice  De Lacy Staunton Trophy

McGuire  Cup

O’Conor Don Cup

Tom Joyce Memorial Cup




We extend congratulations and best wishes to Leona Maguire. We are very proud to have both Leona and her sister Lisa as honorary members of Castlerea Golf Club.

Join Today


Dear Member,

We are delighted and privileged to be the captains of Castlerea Golf Club for 2023.  We are honoured to welcome you, our members, and all visitors to our club, throughout the year ahead. Our course offers an enjoyable golf experience on a beautiful parkland course and is well worth a visit.

We wish to thank our outgoing captains for their work and dedication during 2022. We thank all members who serve on committees and sub-committees. There are many hard-working volunteers who generously give of their time and expertise to ensure the smooth running of our club, and we honour their dedication and generosity of spirit.

You, as a member of Castlerea Golf club are important to us. Your membership is essential to what we want to develop and achieve. We welcome those who are joining us for the first time. The “Get into Golf” programme will support beginner members and has been very successful to date. We welcome young people who have joined the club and recognise the support of their parents. You are the future of our club, and we are proud of the progress you have made.

We thank our sponsors for their generosity and loyalty. We the members, look forward to competing in sponsored competitions. They inject great enthusiasm through their involvement. We wish them and their families every success for 2023.

Our club will be represented in different club competitions by our dedicated golfers, and we wish them well in their matches.

We would like to wish both members and visitors fun, friendship, and great golf. And we wish you good health to enjoy!

Padraic Gilmore and Teresa Meaney


Get in contact with our Captains & Club President.

Committee Members


Captain...Padraic Gilmore
Vice Captain...Eugene O Connell
Secretary...Dara Bruen
Treasurer...Jimmy Joyce
Handicap Secretary...Paul Glynn
Competition Secretary...Sean O'Connell
Committee ...Anto Kelly Matt Griffith President Tony Brophy


Captain...Teresa Meaney
Vice Captain...Breege Cullen
Secretary...Catherine Collins
Treasurer...Kathy Burke
Handicap Secretary...Pauline Glynn
Competition Secretary...Deirdre Hawkshaw
Committee ...Maura Kelly , Marian Caulfield, Mary Finan


President & Pro...Tony Brophy
Chairperson...Liam Callaghan
Honorary Secretary...Jean Timothy
Honorary Treasurer...Michael Mc Govern
Membership Convenor...Eugene Collins
Junior Convenor...Kieran Kenny
House Committee Convenor...Dympna Mc Donnell
Course Manager...Anto Kelly
Fundraising Committee Convenor...Mamie Creaton
Ladies Committee Convenor...Kathy Burke
Men's Committee Convenor...Liam Callaghan
Committee Member...Keith Revins
Back To Top